APOY 2015 Round 7: Lie of the Land results

Michael Marsh from Kent is the winner of Round 7 of APOY 2015. He takes home a Sigma 150-600mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM | C lens and Sigma USB Dock worth £1,238.99.
The Sigma 150-600mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM | C aims to achieve the best optical and action-capture performance to meet the requirements of professional photographers while maintaining a lightweight and compact construction for higher usability. Sigma has put special emphasis on the lens’s optical performance by the incorporation of one FLD and three SLD glass elements, optimisation of the lens’s power distribution and minimised chromatic aberration.

APOY 2015 Round 7: Lie of the Land

Sigma 150-600mm f5-6.3 DG-OS HSM

What matters most with a hyper-telephoto zoom lens is the image quality at the telephoto end, and this lens offers brilliant performance. In addition, distortion throughout the focal range is well compensated. In order to ensure this is a hyper-telephoto zoom lens that is also equipped for shooting in the field, it is dust and splash-proof and incorporates a detachable tripod socket for higher usability.

The Optical Stabilizer (OS) function features an acceleration sensor to ensure higher precision even when handheld. Two OS modes are available: mode 1 for general photography and mode 2 for motor sports and other applications requiring panning. In mode 2, the acceleration sensor teams up with the Intelligent OS and its updated stabilisation algorithm to deliver effective stabilisation while you move the camera horizontally, vertically or diagonally – regardless of the position of the lens.

By connecting the USB cable to a computer, the Sigma USB Dock enables photographers to update the lens firmware and customise features of the lens to their requirements. The adjustment is processed with specially designed software, Sigma Optimization Pro, which is available as a free download from Sigma’s website.

APOY Michael Marsh

1st Michael Marsh, Kent 50pts

1st Michael Marsh, Kent 50pts

Canon EOS 5D Mark II, 16-35mm, 1/160sec at f/10, ISO 100

‘This image features the locally iconic beach huts tucked behind the Sportsman pub in Seasalter, Whitstable, Kent,’ says Michael of this wonderfully atmospheric winning shot. ‘I’ve been photographing the huts for some years now and they’re a photographer’s dream, because they look so different at various times of the year. The constantly changing foreground, coupled with such an exposed position, exploits the light and gives the most amazing scenes.’

APOY George Digalakis

2nd George Digalakis, Athens 49pts

2nd George Digalakis, Athens 49pts

Nikon D7000, 11-16mm, 332secs at f/22, ISO 100, Hoya ND 500 and Hoya ND 16 filters

This ghostly image was taken on the Attica coast in Vouliagmeni, Greece. It’s the kind of shot that could only have been achieved with the right combination of filters and a seriously long shutter speed. The image also benefits from the eerie rock near the centre that almost looks as if it could be a lonely swimmer.

APOY Anita Nicholson

3rd Anita Nicholson, Northumberland 48pts

3rd Anita Nicholson, Northumberland 48pts

Canon EOS 7D, 10-20mm, 2secs at f/11, ISO 100, Lee 0.9 hard grad filter

This image was taken one January evening. A sudden burst of colour at sunset frames the tree and catches the winter grasses at Sycamore Gap on Hadrian’s Wall in Northumberland. It’s an image that bursts with vibrancy and captivates with its simple use of composition.

Here are the Top 50 entries for :

1 Michael Marsh 50pts
2 George Digalakis 49pts
3 Anita Nicholson 48pts
4 Tomer Eliash 47pts
5 Alastair Batchelor 46pts
6 Denis Dowland 45pts
7 Sigita Playdon 44pts
8 Simon Anderson 43pts
9 Lee Acaster 42pts
10 Adam Stephenson 41pts
11 John Boteler 40pts
12 Richard Bond 39pts
13 Cristian Agostini 38pts
14 Norman Raine 37pts
15 John Carracher 36pts
16 Phua Yin Kan 35pts
17 Nigel Jones 34pts
18 Derek Robertson 33pts
19 Alf Bailey 32pts
20 Tom Baverstock 31pts
21 Mark Cornick 30pts
22 David Fletcher 29pts
23 Dayle Salmon 28pts
24 Morris Conlan 27pts
25 Stan Venitt 26pts
26 Matt Parry 25pts
27 Stuart Hall 24pts
28 Chris Evans 23pts
29 Mirela Bogdan 22pts
30 Tom Lowe 21pts
31 Phua Yin Kan 20pts
32 Roderick Leyland 19pts
33 Darling Harbour 18pts
34 Jevgenijs Scolokovs 17pts
35 George Fisk 16pts
36 Elliott Smith 15pts
37 Jim Young 14pts
38 Peter Kewley 13pts
39 Penny Halsall 12pts
40 Malcolm Hay 11pts
41 Christian Schoter 10pts
42 Tony Sellen 9pts
43 Christophe Lemieux 8pts
44 Diogo Ferreira 7pts
45 Mike Martin 6pts
46 Robert Dawkins 5pts
47 Anthony Into 4pts
48 Thomas King 3pts
49 Leanne Harrison 2pts
50 Peter Murrell 1pt

See the winning entries in the APOY 2015 Gallery

The 2015 Leaderboard

Lee Acaster has held on to first place despite not scoring in the previous two rounds. In second place, and 30 points behind the leader, we find that Chris Evans is holding steady, while Tomer Eliash has leapt from eighth place to a very impressive third.

Position Name Points
1  Lee Acaster   185pts
2  Chris Evans   154pts
3  Tomer Eliash   145pts
4  Matt Parry   138pts
5  Mark Cornick   126pts
6  David Queenan   116pts
7  Graham Borthwick   114pts
8  Penny Halsall   114pts
9  Jevgenijs Scolokovs   112pts
10  Adele Spencer   100pts
APOY 2015

APOY 2015 Round 6, Lie of the Land – Landscapes