Picture credit: Simon Morris

Their entries have been plucked from nearly 140,000 from 166 countries – the highest number of submissions in the competition’s seven-year history.

Shortlisted in the Open category, which was open to enthusiasts and judged on a single image, are Kristan Akerman; Alf Bailey; Andrew Bailey; Sean Batten; Simon Butterworth; Jim Grover; Colin Hogan; Simon Martin; Simon Morris; and Mandy Watts.

Judges also commended 33 images captured by British photographers across the ten Open categories.

The overall Open category winner will pocket $5,000 cash and will be announced on 30 April.

Guy Martin, the photojournalist who was injured in an attack in Libya that killed fellow photojournalists Tim Hetherington and Chris Hondros in 2011, is among five Professional category finalists.

The best entries from the contest will go on show at Somerset House in London from 1-18 May.